Alpha Sigma Mu held the usual Annual Meeting activities at the Materials Science and Technology conference in Pittsburgh in October 2017.  The Board of Trustees meeting occurred on Sunday October 8, 2017, and the Alpha Sigma Mu lecture and awards occurred on Monday, along with a social reception Monday evening.  Above, Past President Fred Schmidt (right) presents current President Joe Newkirk with his commemorative plaque for delivering the Alpha Sigma Mu Distinguished Lecture.

President Joe Newkirk from Missouri University of Science and Technology delivered the 2017 Alpha Sigma Mu Distinguished Lecture, entitled “Creating the Materials of Tomorrow”:

Past President Jack Simon is acknowledged at the Distinguished Lecture:

The Board of Trustees met with several distinguished guests on Sunday morning:

Back row, left to right:  ASMu New Fellow Bill Frazier (Navair), Past Trustee Ravi Ravindran (Ryerson University), Trustee Mark Smith (Sandia National Lab), Vice President George VanderVoort (Consultant), incoming Trustee Pete Collins (Iowa State), ASMu New Fellow Craig Clauser (Consultant).  Front row, left to right:  Past President and Trustee Fred Schmidt (Consultant), incoming Trustee Diana Lados (Worcester Polytechnic Institute), President Joe Newkirk (Missouri University of Science and Technology), Secretary/Treasurer Walt Milligan (Michigan Technological University), Trustee Raghu Srinivasan (Wright State University).

President Newkirk presented awards to the new Alpha Sigma Mu Fellows at the conclusion of the Distinguished Lecture:

James Martinez, NASA Johnson Space Center


William Frazier,  Naval Air Systems Command


Premkumar Aurora, Aurora Engineering Company


Craig Clauser, Craig Clauser Engineering Consulting