Alpha Sigma Mu International Professional Honor Society is dedicated to encouraging and recognizing excellence in the materials engineering field. Members consist of students, alumni, and other professionals who have demonstrated exceptional academic and professional accomplishments. Student members are selected on the basis of scholastic standing, character and leadership. Through Chapter involvement, students develop lifelong skills that prepare them for leadership positions in industry and academia. Members are much better prepared for the post-college world and are valuable and attractive to employers.

Members are encouraged to continue their involvement through their university chapters by volunteering for Alpha Sigma Mu committees and activities and providing feedback to student members from their work experience. The Alpha Sigma Mu Career Center portal is available lifelong to help students and graduates find challenging job opportunities.

Alpha Sigma Mu is dedicated to continue to improve its services and strives for excellence to meet the changing needs of its members and chapters.

Brief History of Alpha Sigma Mu

Alpha Sigma Mu was established in 1932 by the faculty of the Metallurgy Department of the Michigan College of Mining and Technology (now Michigan Technological University) in Houghton, Michigan.

In 1956, the national officers of Alpha Sigma Mu approached the American Society for Metals to assume the business management of the society. In 1957, ASM assumed the business management of the society and the organization prospered.

In 1965, Alpha Sigma Mu became a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.

In May of 1978, Alpha Sigma Mu had grown to 33 chapters with 200 new members added yearly.

For the next 20 years, Alpha Sigma Mu was run by Professor Richard Connell of the University of Florida. Richard singlehandedly handled the affairs of the society but he passed away in 2007. Richard withdrew Alpha Sigma Mu from the ASM administration sometime in the 1990s.

After the death of Richard Connell, Jack Simon (retired GM executive, Michigan Tech alumnus, and Alpha Sigma Mu member) undertook a complete reorganization, and established an executive committee and board of directors.  Jack Simon served as President, followed by Dr. Fred Schmidt during this crucial transition period starting in 2011, while Dr. George VanderVoort served as Vice President.  Professors Raghu Srinivasan, Cal White and Walt Milligan served as Secretary/Treasurer.  Fred Schmidt resigned in 2016 due to an increasing responsibility in ASM International, and Professor Joseph Newkirk assumed the presidency.